top of page

Concerto for Horn and Band






wind band

solo piece


Buy Fanfare Version
Buy Brass Version
View Wind PDF
View Fanfare PDF
View Brass PDF

Concerto for Horn and Band was written on commission from the horn player Miguel Martinez Megias and the symphonic concert band La Armónica from Buñol, Spain. This four-movement work, written to fully explore the capabilities of the horn as a solo voice, is comprised of a dramatic Sarabande, a highly virtuoso Toccata, a wonderful Romance and a Finale that reworks the second movement in a kind of fugue and brings the work to a spectacular close. The basic building block of this concerto, quite fittingly, is the fifth: you only have to think of the post horn or a hunting theme, which conjures up the sound of the perfect fifth. Wonderful new repertoire for a wonderful instrument.

bottom of page